Situations and Rules

Southeast Michigan Umpire Camp Situations and Rules

Situations and Rules

Posted By pulsemediatc

In each of the following, you are given a situation and at least two possible answers. Decide which answer or answers are correct for NFHS, NCAA and pro rules, which may vary.

We would like to publish some of our own situations that happen throughout the year.  Please submit your feedback and/or case plays using the Suggestions form on this web site  by clicking on the menu button on your left or on the word SUGGESTIONS.

Caseplays Submitted by readers

1 out, with R2 at second base.  B1 hits a groundball to F6.  F6 has R2 caught between second and third base and in a rundown.  As R2 is trying to return to second base F4 without the ball and with no play imminent runs into R2 on his way back to second base.  What do you have?
A)  Obstruction on F4.  Kill the play and award R2 3rd base.
B)  Obstruction on F4.  Delayed dead ball, award R2 3rd base and B1 second base.
C)  Obstruction on F4.  Delayed dead ball, award R2 3rd base at the end of all playing action.
D)  Obstruction on F4.  Delayed dead ball, award R2 home and B1 2nd base.

Batting Out of Order-4 things to remember!!!!!!
1)  
When a someone bats out of order.  The “Proper” batter is called out.
2)  After a improper player has completed his turn at bat — one pitch, one play (not caused by offensive team), or one attempted play legalizes this batter and no further appeals may be made.
3)  The proper batter may replace the improper batter at any time before the improper batter completes his at bat and the proper batter assumes the count.
4)  In straightening out batting out of order when the proper batter is on base.  Skip the proper batter.

Play 6-07-06A  (NFHS Rules)
0 outs,  Baker mistakenly bats for Able and grounds out.  After proper appeal who should be the next batter?  Able, Baker, or Charlie?

Play 6-07-06B  (NFHS Rules)

Less than 2 outs with runners on 2nd and 3rd.  A passed ball goes to the backstop, R3 and R2 try to advance.  As F2 (catcher) retreives the ball and throws to F1 (pitcher).  The ball hits B1 (batter) who is out of the batters box.  What do you have?
A)  Since it was a passed ball you have nothing and let play continue.
B)  Interference on the batter and he is out. Runners return to 2nd and 3rd.
C)  Interference on the batter, R3 is out, R2 returns to 2nd and B1 continues his at bat.
D)  Interference on the batter, R3 and R2 are both out?
E)  Interference on the batter, R3 is out and R2 remains at 3rd base.

Play 5-10-06A:  (NFHS Rules)

If a Batter/Runner or Runner misses a base or fails to tag his base on a fly ball and is on or beyond the next base or home plate when the ball becomes dead.  Can he retrace the bases in order to tag the missed base or tag the base in the case of a caught fly ball?

Play 5-10-06B:  (NFHS Rules)

Runners on 1st and 2nd base less than 2 outs.  Deep fly ball left/center field.  Both runners are tagging on the play.
Situation 1:  The ball bounces off the fence (no catch).  R1 and R2 become confused and remain on their respective bases.  F8 picks up the ball, throws to F6 who tags R2 standing on 2nd base and then steps on 2nd base.
Situation 2:  The ball bounces off the fence (no catch).  R1 and R2 become confused and remain on their respective bases.  F8 picks up the ball, throws to F6, meanwhile BR passes R1 at 1st base.  F6 then tags R2 standing on 2nd base and then steps on 2nd base.
Answers to Case Plays sent in by Umpires!!!  Thanks and keep them coming!!

Answer to Play 7-12-06A:  C.  both NFHS and NCAA rules.  NFHS 8-3 Art. 2.  When a runner is obstructed while advanicng or returning to a base by a fielder who neither has the ball nor is attempting to make a play, or a fielder without the ball fakes a tag, the umpire shall award the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction the bases they would have reached, in his opinion, had there been no obstruction.  If the runner achieves the base he was attempting to acquire, then the obstruction is ignored.  The obstructed runner is awarded a minimum of one base beyond his position on base when the obstruction occurred.  If any preceding runner is forced to advance by the awarding of a base or bases to an obstructed runner, the umpire shall award this preceding runner the necessary base or bases.
Note:  When obstruction occurs, the umpire gives the delayed dead ball signal and calls “obstruction.”  If an award is to be made, the ball becomes dead when time is taken to make the award.
NCAA 8-3-e:  If obstruction by a fielder is committed against any runner on which a play IS NOTbeing made;
PENALTY – The umpire shall point and call “That’s obstruction.”  The umpire shall let the play continue until all play has ceased, call time and award any bases justified in Rule 2.  If obstruction by a fielder is committed against any runner in which a play IS being made;
PENALTY – The umpire shall point and call “That’s obstruction.”  The umpire shall let the play continue until all play has ceased, call time and award any bases justified in Rule 2.  The obstructed runner is awarded at least one base beyond the base last legally touched before the obstruction.

Answer to Play 6-07-06A:  Charlie.  Since Baker completed Abel’s at bat and grounded out.  Abel is skipped, Baker is out and Charlie bats with one out.

Answer to Play 6-07-06B:  C

Answer to 5-10-06A:  No.  If the runner who misses any base or home plate or leaves to early, desires to return to touch the base, he must do so immediately.  If the ball becomes dead and the runner in on or beyond the succeeding base, he can not return to the missed base and therefore, is subject to being declared out upon proper appeal.  (NFHS 8-2-ART5)

Answer to 5-10-06B Situation 1:  R2 is out on force play because of the tag and R1 is out on force play because of force.  If there were 0 outs BR would remain on 1st base assuming he had touched 1st base.

Answer to 5-10-06B Situation 2:  BR is out for passing R1 at 1st base.  R1 and R2 are both safe on their respective bases because BR has been called out for passing R1.  This negates all force plays!

This next set of situations are compliments of NASO and Referee Magazine.  Answers are after Question #20.

1. B1 bunts the ball halfway to the mound and inadvertently drops his bat on the plate as he runs to first. F2 overruns
the ball without touching it. The backspin on the ball brings the ball back to the plate, where it hits the motionless bat
and comes to rest on the plate.
a. Foul ball.
b. Foul ball only if the plate umpire judges it would have gone foul had it not hit the bat.
c. Fair ball, play it.
d. B1 is out for interference.
2. With the pitcher on the rubber in a set position with runners on base, which of the following are balks?
a. Before the pitcher becomes set, he turns his shoulders to check a runner.
b. After the pitcher becomes set, he turns his shoulders to check a runner.
c. The pitcher drops the ball and it crosses a foul line.
d. The pitcher drops the ball and it doesn’t cross a foul line.
e. A pitch is delivered with the pitcher wearing a black and white glove.
3. Which of the following runners are out when hit by a batted ball?
a. A runner who is on his base.
b. A runner who is on his base and is hit by an infield fly.
c. A runner who is hit by a ball that previously hit another runner.
d. A runner who is hit in foul territory by a deflected fair ball.
e. None of the above.
4. The umpire’s jurisdiction ends when:
a. The last out is made.
b. All fielders leave fair territory after the last out is made.
c. All umpires leave the confines of the field after the last out is made.
d. The official scorer verifies the final score.

5. With runners on second and third and two out, B4 comes to bat. The coach yells, “Put him on.”
a. Four balls must be pitched.
b. Four balls must be pitched unless a speed-up rule is being used.
c. The ball remains live as B4 trots to first.
d. The umpire should declare a dead ball as B4 trots to first.
6. A pitcher in a set position stance must come to a stop before delivering a pitch. Which of the following are characteristics of a legal stop?
a. A change of direction.
b. A complete and discernable stop.
c. A lack of movement by his entire body.
d. His glove must be below his chin.
7. Jones is in the starting lineup as the third batter and is removed from the game because of stomach pains in the second inning. In the seventh inning, he feels better and is sent in to pinch-hit for the batter in the fourth spot.
a. When Jones is pulled from the game, he is eligible to re-enter.
b. Jones is only guilty of batting out of order.
c. Jones is an illegal substitute.
d. If discovered, Jones is out.
e. If discovered, Jones is ejected.
8. With the hit-and-run on, B1 swings and throws his bat at an outside pitch. The ball goes toward F1 and the bat lands at F1’s feet.
a. If B1 is retired, the play stands and interference cannot be called.
b. If B1 is safe, interference must be called.
c. Interference is called only if the bat alters the play.
d. If interference is called after R1 rounds second, R1 may remain at second.
9. R2 tries to score on B1’s base hit. F2 is stationary in the baseline in front of the plate without the ball when R2 crashes into him.
a. R2 is out.
b. R2 is safe.
c. R2 is ejected.
d. Play continues after the collision and B1 may advance at his own risk.
10. F1 is on the rubber in a windup position. Which of the following are legal positions for his free foot?
a. With his heel in front of the rubber.
b. With his toe on the rubber.
c. With his toe behind the back edge of the rubber.
d. With his entire foot off to the side of the rubber on a line extending through the front edge of the rubber.
11. B1 hits a fair ball down the right-field line. A spectator, believing it is a foul ball, picks it up.
a. The ball is delayed dead.
b. The ball is immediately dead.
c. B1 must be awarded two bases from the time of the pitch.
d. B1 must be awarded two bases from the time of the interference.
12. Green enters the game to pitch to B4 with the bases loaded and one out. Before throwing a pitch, he picks off R2.
Excluding an injury, Green:
a. May be replaced immediately.
b. Must remain in the game until another out is made.
c. Must remain in the game until B4’s at bat is completed.
d. Must pitch until the inning is over.
e. None of the above.

13. B6 bats when it is B5’s turn to bat.
a. If the umpire notices the infraction, he should have B6 removed from the batter’s box.
b. The defense can immediately appeal and have B6 declared out.
c. The defense can make a proper appeal at any time until the first pitch to the batter.
d. The defense must wait for B6 to complete his at bat before making a proper appeal.
14. Which of the following can only be appealed by the defensive team?
a. Batting out of order.
b. Use of an illegal glove.
c. Use of an illegal bat.
d. Entry of an illegal substitute.
e. A baserunning infraction.
15. A runner who misses a base must be appealed to be declared out.
a. The ball must be live for an appeal to be made.
b. If the ball is dead when playing action ends, runners must be given an opportunity to correct any infractions, as permissible by rule, before an appeal can be made.
c. Any player can make a verbal appeal after the ball is dead.
d. Any coach can make a verbal appeal after the ball is dead.
16. With two strikes on the batter, which of the following tipped balls result in an out.
a. A ball that hits the dirt before it is tipped and is caught by the catcher.
b. A ball that hits the dirt after it is tipped and is caught by the catcher.
c. A ball that goes from the bat to the catcher’s mask and is then caught by the catcher.
d. A ball that goes directly to the catcher’s glove is deflected into the air and caught by the pitcher.
17. Which of the following result in a three-base award?
a. A foul ball that could roll fair is scooped by the catcher, who uses his mask.
b. An outfielder intentionally carries a catch into dead-ball territory.
c. The catcher throws his mask to stop a pitch from rolling into the dugout.
d. An outfielder throws his glove to stop a fair ball from going over the fence in flight.
18. With a runner on first, B1 hits for extra bases. R1 is obstructed before reaching second and falls down. B1 passes R1, realizes his error and allows R1 to pass. When playing action ends, R1 is on third and B1 on second.
a. B1 is out for passing R1.
b. Passing a runner cancels the obstruction.
c. It’s possible for the play to stand.
d. If R1 is awarded home, B1 could be awarded third.
19. It is the second extra inning (ninth for NFHS and 11th for NCAA and pro). How many conferences/visits would the defense have if it had not used any of their prior conferences?
a. One.
b. Two.
c. Three.
d. Four.
20. With the bases loaded and one out, B1 hits safely. R1 and R2 end up on third base together. Both runners are tagged.
a. Both runners are out.
b. Whichever runner is tagged first is out.
c. It doesn’t matter what order the runners are tagged; only R1 is out.
d. It doesn’t matter what order the runners are tagged; only R2 is out.

 

ANSWERS
1. All – c (NFHS 8-4-1; NCAA 7-11m; pro 6.05h)
2. All – b, d (NFHS 6-1-3, 6.1.3G; NCAA 9-1b; pro 8.01b)
3. All – a (NFHS 8-4-2k; NCAA 6-2e, 8-2g; pro 7.08f)
4. NFHS, NCAA – c (NFHS 10-1-2; NCAA 5-16b Pen 4e); pro – a (interp.)
5. NFHS – d (5-1-3); NCAA, pro – a, c (NCAA 6-1a AR; pro 5.09)
6. NFHS – b, c, d (6-1-3); NCAA, pro – b, c (NCAA 9-1b; pro 8.01b)
7. NFHS – a, c, d (2-36-3b, 3-1-1); NCAA – c, d, e (5-5j-1); pro – b, d (pro interp.)
8. All – c (NFHS 7-3-6; NCAA 7-11n; pro 6.05h Cmt 2)
9. NFHS – a, c (8-4-2e Nt); NCAA – b, c (8-7b AR); pro – b, d (7.08)
10. NFHS – b, c, d; NCAA, pro – b, c (NFHS 6-1-2; NCAA 9-1a; pro 8.01a)
11. All – b (NFHS 5-1-1f3, 8-3-3e; NCAA 6-4a, 8-3n; pro 3.16)
12. All – e (NFHS 3-1-2; NCAA 5-5b; pro 3.05)
13. All – d (NFHS 7-1-2; NCAA 7-11a; pro 6.07a)
14. NFHS, pro – a, e (NFHS 1-5-3; pro interp.); NCAA – a, b, e (1-13c)
15. NFHS – b, c, d (8-2-6); NCAA, pro – a, b (NCAA 8-6; pro 7.10)
16. NFHS – a, d (2-16-1); NCAA, pro – a (NCAA 2-Foul Tip; pro 2.00 Foul Tip)
17. All – a (NFHS 8-3-3b; NCAA 8-3g; pro 7.05b)
18. All – c, d (NFHS 8-3-2, 8-4-2m; NCAA 8-3e, 8-5m; pro 7.06, 7.08h)
19. NFHS, pro – a (NFHS 3-4-1; pro 8.06); NCAA – d (9-4a)
20. All – c (NFHS 8-2-8 Nt; NCAA 8-1c; pro 7.03)

Web Design by Pulse Media Solutions